Hip replacement surgery

On Monday (13th) I had my sixth hip surgery – a “Total Right Hip Replacement”.

I’m still in hospital and my god has it been a painful experience. I’m pretty used to pain but this is something else. My operated leg is swollen to more than twice it’s size and walking is near on impossible.

I can’t wait to get home to my bed and a decent cup of tea.

Each surgery has been difficult. Painful. Exhausting. Mentally draining. Incredibly taxing on my mental health and Iv struggled immensely each time.

But what it does do is remind me how strong and resilient the human body is. I have had my pelvis broken in 8 places, I have had my bone shaved, my muscles cute ligaments and tendons torn etc and now a full joint replacement and two days on, I’m able to hobble around and feel relatively positive that recovery is possible and within reach.

I am hopeful that my mental health won’t suffer so chronically this time round. I’m staying at home (I live alone so this is quite scary) but this is far better than the alternative of moving back home and trying to get on with my mum. As much as I love her, I cannot live with her again.

I’ll hopefully be home by this coming Friday and ready to smash this recovery đź’›

One thought on “Hip replacement surgery

Leave a comment